Monday, December 19, 2005

book review

This is the sequel to Black Notice. Chief Medical Examiner Kay Scarpetta continues her life-long, self-imposed quest to make right what is wrong, but this time she is forced not only to defend those who have been victimized but also herself. Against a system that has turned on her, long-time enemies, ghosts from her past, and her own carefully guarded emotions Dr. Scarpetta must find the proof that will send a killer to jail and prove herself innocent in the process.

This book belonged to my mum and she was always talking highly of Patricia Cornwell and this made my mind up that I would read at least one novel of hers. There is a whole series of Kay Scarpetta stories and I think this is the 10th. With not having read the first few books, I thought I would get lost in the plot and wouldnt understand the story. I was wrong. Throughout the book, everything about Kay Scarpetta's background is explained to you. Her past relationships and hardships and even though I thought it was somewhat slow to start with, I really enjoyed reading it.

Post mortem's have always interested me and, although it's not descibed in great detail, this book takes you into her life and the post mortem's she has to struggle to do. As I said before, it did seem a little slow to start with but I highly suggest that others read this. It is an eventful story and if you're anything like me, it'll interest you to read more about Kay Scarpetta and her life as a medical examiner in Richmond, Virginia. I give this book a rating of 8/10

you will need media flash player to view the Patricia Cornwell site


Michele said...

When I first read your review before you added the first part, it didnt' sound very interesting to me. Now that I have been able to read all of the review, it sounds very interesting. I will have to see if our Library here has the series.

nenni said...

it starts with post mortem..I'm still trying to figure out the order they go in. That I know of there are:-
post mortem
body of evidence
all that remains
cruel and unusual
the body farm
from potter's field
cause of death
unatural exposure
black notice
the last precinct
blow fly

but not all in that order. I'll find the order they go in

gomedome said...

Hi Nenni

I've read your blog and I am impressed enough to give you a blog award.
Yep, a full blown and very real award for blog design. Where design is the
main criteria, we also look at content, page layout and general aethestics.
This isn't a gimmick, I promise, check it out:


LuNaMooN said...

Another good series is Sue Grafton's Alphabet series.
A is for Alibi
B is for Burglar
C is for Corpse
D is for Deadbeat
E is for Evidence
F is for Fugitive
G is for Gumshoe
H is for Homicide
I is for Innocent
J is for Judgment
K is for Killer
L is for Lawless
M is for Malice
N is for Noose
O is for Outlaw
P is for Peril
Q is for Quarry
R is for Ricochet
S is for Silence

Great books, all the ones I've read. Kinsey Millhone is a great creation of Ms Grafton's. She's a no nonsense ballsy woman, with a soft side. To find out more, go here...